Suicide Prevention Trial

The Midwest region is one of 12 sites across Australia selected by the Australian Government to participate in The National Suicide Prevention Trial.

The 12 locations chosen for the Trial have a higher than average suicide rate and this major trial aims to find the most effective approaches to suicide prevention for at-risk populations and share this knowledge across Australia.

Each year about 3,000 Australians take their lives and the suicide rate for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders is about twice that of non-Indigenous people.

The Midwest Suicide Prevention Trial is focussing on the Aboriginal community and men aged 25 to 54, specifically farmers, fishers and fly in, fly out (FIFO) workers.

The communities involved are: Geraldton, Carnarvon, Gascoyne Junction, Coral Bay, Shark Bay, Meekatharra, Yalgoo, Mt Magnet, Mullewa, Dongara, Morawa, Mingenew, Perenjori, Three Springs, Carnamah and Coorow.

Preventing suicide is a complex problem and a one-size-fits-all strategy for dealing with the challenge may not be the best approach. This is exactly what this prevention trial is all about.


Stakeholder update 1

Stakeholder update 2

Stakeholder update 3

Community factsheet

Newsletter sign-up

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


While the Australian Government Department of Health has contributed to the funding of this website, the information on this website does not necessarily reflect the views of the Australian Government and is not advice that is provided, or information that is endorsed, by the Australian Government. The Australian Government is not responsible in negligence or otherwise for any injury, loss or damage however arising from the use of or reliance on the information provided on this website.