Laying the foundations for better health outcomes

The Patient Centred Medical Home (PCMH) is rapidly evolving to be the future of primary health care internationally. The principles that underpin PCMH are universally relevant and fundamental to strong primary care. The model plays a pivotal role in achieving improved health of populations, enhanced patient experiences, health care cost reductions and better support for health professionals – also known as the Quadruple Aim.

WAPHA will use the underpinning principles of the PCMH to inform its development of a Comprehensive Primary Care model for WA general practice.

cpc-imageComprehensive Primary Care Booklet

Download PDF



Patient Experience of Care

  • Reduced waiting times
  • Improved access
  • Patient & family needs met

Quality and Population Health

  • Improved health outcomes
  • Equity of access
  • Reduced disease burden

Improved Provider Satisfaction

  • Sustainability and meaning of work
  • Increased clinician and staff satisfaction
  • Teamwork
  • Leadership
  • Quality improvement culture

Sustainable cost

  • Cost reduction in service delivery
  • Reduced avoidable/unnecessary hospital admissions
  • Return on innovation costs invested
  • Ratio of funding for primary: acute care


PCMH is in its early stages of adoption within Australia, however it has made significant inroads in areas such as Boston, USA where the Cambridge Health Alliance (CHA) leads a changing approach to primary care.

The Comprehensive Primary Care model that WAPHA has adopted is based on the Bodenheimer PCMH Model, a well-documented and researched model, and advocates enhanced patient access to comprehensive, coordinated, evidence-based, interdisciplinary care.

WAPHA is currently launching the first stage in its Comprehensive Primary Care journey, partnering with selected local general practices, to see PCMH principles applied within the Australian context. As part of the project, WAPHA will employ a dedicated support team, working across the involved practices and will facilitate an ongoing education program around the model’s 10 critical building blocks (see below).

10 Building Blocks of High Performing Primary Care