Suicide Prevention Trial

The Midwest region is one of 12 sites across Australia selected by the Australian Government to participate in The National Suicide Prevention Trial.

The 12 locations chosen for the Trial have a higher than average suicide rate and this major trial aims to find the most effective approaches to suicide prevention for at-risk populations and share this knowledge across Australia.

Each year about 3,000 Australians take their lives and the suicide rate for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders is about twice that of non-Indigenous people.

The Midwest Suicide Prevention Trial is focussing on the Aboriginal community and men aged 25 to 54, specifically farmers, fishers and fly in, fly out (FIFO) workers.

The communities involved are: Geraldton, Carnarvon, Gascoyne Junction, Coral Bay, Shark Bay, Meekatharra, Yalgoo, Mt Magnet, Mullewa, Dongara, Morawa, Mingenew, Perenjori, Three Springs, Carnamah and Coorow.

Preventing suicide is a complex problem and a one-size-fits-all strategy for dealing with the challenge may not be the best approach. This is exactly what this prevention trial is all about.


Community factsheet

Stakeholder update 3

Stakeholder update 2

Stakeholder update 1


Newsletter sign-up

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.